The Man in Stoic Assignments

My recent stoic assignments

  1. #28 to make – I came across these 28 daily creative project ideas that were sent to my inbox daily in the month of February of 2016 to help me get back in the habit of creating and honing my craft as a creative. A commitment for 28 days to create a habit of being able to create every day. These assignments were sent in the month of February – #28tomake. These daily stoic assignments were done in the pursuit of Deep Work and quitting social media slowly

“To be great at something is to be well myelinated.” – Cal Newport

Every day without fail in February I pursued these assignments which helped me to cultivate myelin, in time that is what insulates neurons in my brain which is essential to improve on any skill or be great at something. As a result, the electric impulses flow powerfully and more consistently if one deliberately practices a skill. In this case, it was photography – iPhone photography. I wanted to experiment with the idea put forth by Chase Jarvis “The camera is the one in your pocket.” No matter what happened, I posted them on my Instagram profile with the objective in mind to be doing things right rather than doing the right things, Newport states this rule in one of his other books So Good They Can’t Ignore You.

Some of my work is here in the below –

2. Weekend Hashtag Project is a series featuring designated themes and hashtags chosen by Instagram’s Community Team.

With these micro stoic assignments, I was committed to imminent deadlines on Monday mornings with the objective to capture the assignments over the weekend. In addition, I saw a great opportunity to be featured on the Instagram blog. I, still to this date, look forward to these micro-assignments every Friday afternoon.

Photos captured by yours truly –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3. Key Takeaway – Stoic assignments

Stoicism is an ancient Greek school of philosophy founded at Athens by Zeno of Citium. The school taught that virtue, the highest good, is based on knowledge and that the wise live in harmony with the divine reason that governs nature and are indifferent to the vicissitudes of fortune and to pleasure and pain.

I stumbled upon stoicism in the latter half of 2016, a year which has been an eventful year as you know it. I was rooting or in search for a philosophy that speaks to the mind in an objective manner. Stoicism known for its proponents and applications helps practicing misfortune, training perception, realizing life is ephemeral and cages the monkey mind. Check out Stoicism 101 by Tim Ferris. A philosophy that I am more dwelling into by reading Meditations by Marcus Aurelius and Daily Stoic by Ryan Holiday, another author I admire.

Pondering on this quote from the book –

wallpaper.jpg

References

  1. Newport, C. Deep Work, P.28
  2. Aurelius, M. The Thoughts of The Emperor Marcus Aurelius, p.124
  3. It Takes 28 Days To Make Or Break A Habit, https://www.creativelive.com/courses/28-to-make
  4. Ferris, T. Stoicism 101 – A practical guide for entrepreneurs
Leave a Reply

